Getting My Sh*t Together … pardon my French, but no other way to say it…


I have a plan!!! I have a start date! I have a journal! And, I have a support system! I am now prepared to start my weight loss journey. I will start eating healthier and exercising more starting Monday. I have already started tracking my calories now and watching my portions. I’ve still been eating unhealthy foods, but watching how much and trying to already start to make small changes.

I know that I did not gain my weight overnight and it won’t be lost overnight. However, I am determined not to stay this weight! I am ready to get back to my confident happy self. I want to get my crap together in every aspect of my life. I want to be a better wife. I want to be a better Christian getting involved in church again. I want to go back to school to get my Masters in Social Work so I can make a difference in the lives of Arkansas. I especially want to work with kids that are in custody of the state with finding placement and resources for them. I want to get healthy before we start trying to have children. I know my husband really wants kids, and I do to. I just know I can’t do it being this overweight. I have to get my body healthy before I bring a child into it. I don’t have baby fever yet. But, a lot of my friends are having kids, or just had a child, and I know I want to be a mom. I know if I can be half the mom that my mother is to me, and I know I can, I will be an awesome mom.

I can remember back to a time when I first met my husband and our confidence roles were reversed. I was so confident in myself back then and I was much happier to be around. My husband was the shy un-confident one. He just couldn’t believe that I loved a guy like him as much as I do. I still love that man even more. He is a wonderful husband to tell me that I’m beautiful the way I am, that I will always be his Charity. But, I want to be the happy, confident, healthy Charity I was 10 years ago, and I am determined to get back to that place. I want to be back in my happy place.

I know I can lose the weight; I’ve done it before back in 2008. I just hope this time that my husband will also join me in eating healthier and help keep me accountable.

We are doing a biggest loser competition at work, which is why my start date is Monday officially. I have my eye on that prize. I hope all of you will help keep me accountable and follow me on this journey. This is my time for change. This will be the last time I will see this as my weight! I am making a contract with myself today. I will love myself enough to get healthy. I will love my future children enough to get this body healthy before I try to bring their life into this world. I am determined to make a change.

I don’t know what the heck skinny jeans are now, but here in the near future I should!

Ok, I know you all are wondering..hmm..what is the plan?!

Here it is:

Breakfast~Green Smoothie     Lunch~Salad or vegetables      Dinner~Lean meat (chicken, turkey, shrimp, and fish) and two more veggies

My exercise plan is to get up and work out in the morning. I will be getting up at 5:00 AM, getting to the gym by 5:30, working out for an hour or little over (I want to start on stationary bike and elliptical, then after some weight comes off, I want to work up to running on the treadmill. I will also be doing some weight lifting and using the ab machine), then home by 7:15. I don’t have to be at work until 8:30 so a morning workout should be perfect; I just have to get my butt up out of bed! I also want to join my mom after work at the gym at least 3 days a week and workout with her. My aunt has also said that her workplace is having a biggest loser competition as well and she wants to join the same gym. So, she may be joining my mom and me in the evenings. I say the more support the better! I want exercise and going to the gym to become a habit and become addicted! Also for exercise I have been walking and going up and down the stairs at work on my lunch. I normally eat at my desk about 12 and then take my “lunch break” at 2:00 after I send my reports in the afternoon. So on my break I’ve been walking around the building going up and down the stairs, but I think today I will walk outside though because it’s so pretty.

I have also joined My Fitness Pal. They have an app for I-Phones and Droids. I love this app and I get on the website daily. It’s a food journal, exercise journal, and you can “friend” people to help keep you accountable and stay motivated. If you are on a weight loss journey, I highly recommend you join My Fitness Pal. And if you do, and you want to friend me, I am tyedyechick0930. I hope to see some of you on there soon!

Well that’s my plan, and I’m pretty dang excited about it. 🙂

~Charity

5 responses to “Getting My Sh*t Together … pardon my French, but no other way to say it…

  1. You’ve got this! I can feel your excitement and I am excited for you!!!
    : )
    ~Cheers!
    Beth

  2. Woop, woop! You’ve got all kinds of goals and plans and motivation, it sounds like nothing is going to get in your way! I will be following your progress and hope to provide you with any support you may need. I blog about how I got my sh*t together and hope to inspire others as they do the same.

    All the best,
    Megan

  3. Thank you Beth and Megan! Today was mostly a success. I did get in my 7 servings of veggies and 4 servings of fruit. I also got in all my water, but unfortunately I got a horrible headache from lack of caffeine..so I did give in and have one soda just to make that go away. Hopefully I can ween myself off of caffeine completely, but detoxing is a biatch! Megan, I’ll definitely be checking out your blog to! I need all the help I can get. Please check in with me and help keep me accountable. I don’t want to lose my steam and motivation after a couple weeks. 🙂

    • You are doing great! Caffeine headaches are terrible…might I suggest green tea. It gives you just a bit of caffeine (which isn’t so bad for you) and has antioxidants : )
      Keep up the good work!

  4. Thank you Beth! I just love seeing all your encouraging words for me! I’m hoping it’s just this week. I have been drinking lots and lots of water. And, I notice that the days I start off with a green smoothie I feel more energised and less hungry. I’ll have to get me some green tea. Though, I was so proud yesterday I didn’t have any soda at all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

