Monthly Monster


So, today begins the biggest loser competition at work! And…dum dum dum…that monthly monster came back around. Grrrr…. I’m so frustrated because I was doing good and had lost three pounds and then when I weighed at work all three pounds showed right back up on the scale.

I’m trying not to be too mad at myself, and I’m not getting discouraged, but come on..can I catch a break here?! Well, I have been eating very healthy today. I started back doing my green smoothies. This mornings was 8oz of coconut water, 1 medium banana, 1/2 cup frozen pineapple, 1 cup frozen cherries, and 2 cups fresh baby spinach. Yum! It was sooooo good! I forgot how good my smoothies can be.

For lunch one of my co-workers who is just as sweet as can be made some homemade chicken and rice soup. I had 1.5 12oz servings which was yummy. It had chicken, celery, carrots, tomatoes, and rice. Sounds good right? I’ve also snacked on some baby carrots, chopped bell peppers, and grape tomoatoes (though they’re not as sweet as I thought they’d be, but ok).

Pretty excited about dinner tonight! I’m getting back in the kitchen. I’m making a shrimp sautee over rice. Here’s the recipe if you’re curious:

  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1 cup fresh or canned mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup chopped bellpepper (I’m using yellow and orange)
  • 1 can of Campbell’s Cream of Shrimp soup
  • 12 oz of cooked deveined shrimp without the tail
  • rice of your choice

I sautee the onion and bellpepper in a saucepan sprayed with canola oil. Then add the mushrooms and make sure they are sauteed as well. I then add the shrimp and sautee for a couple of minutes. Then add the cup of Campbell’s cream of shrimp soup. Bring to boil then reduce heat to simmer. Once it’s hot and thickened up serve over cooked rice.

Sounds so good! 🙂 I hope everyone enjoys! I might take a picture of it tonight and post it on here tomorrow. It’s such an easy recipe and only about 300 calories per serving. I think I will also steam some green beans to go with it.

Hopefully after dinner that will mean I will be way over my goal of 7 servings of vegetables and will have gotten in 4 servings of fruit! Who gets the gold star today? Me!!! 🙂 Happy Monday everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

