Need To Get My Butt Moving!


Ok, anyone else having this problem? I have the best intentions. I have big goals and hopes for weight loss. I make plans to exercise, yet I still don’t go.

I’m using my monthly as an excuse this week. I feel tired and I’m at war with myself. Part of me wants to go to the gym and work hard and feel accomplished and sweaty. Then another part of me, the bloated fat feeling one, wants to just go home and get in my jammies and curl up with the hubby and watch a movie. It would be ok to go home and just chill if I would get my workout done in the morning. In fact I think I would feel a whole lot better if I got my work out done in the morning. I would have a lot more time to get ready for work afterwards and make sure I have time to make a green smoothie (which did not happen this morning..grrr).

My husband has to get up at 5:15. I have the perfect schedule to go to the gym in the morning. Yet, not once this week have I gotten my butt out of bed until the last minute at 7:15 for work. I think I’m going to have to ask him to turn on the bright lights in the bedroom and help me wake up. I’m not necessarily grumpy in the mornings, but I’m just not a morning person. I’m more of a night owl. That’s another problem I have is not being sleepy until 10-10:30.

Ok, so note to self: Go to bed early tonight and get your ass up early in the morning! I have a biggest loser competition to win and I haven’t lost anything yet! The two pounds I had lost came back this week. Which, I’m thinking is just water weight, but still!!! It’s so frustrating!!! Have I mentioned I have ZERO patience? And yes my husband is probably laughing as he reads this because he knows me so well…no patience, none for me. šŸ™‚

Ok, so does anyone else have these problems with motivation for workouts? I need some advice and suggestions on how to get my butt moving! šŸ™‚ Thanks, Charity

8 responses to “Need To Get My Butt Moving!

  1. Going in the morning works for me, except I have no car at the moment but that is another story! Anyway I will lay my workout clothes on the end of the bed with my runners next to the bed so when my alarm goes off I normally snooze it for a bit (i set it ultra early so I can do that) then get up and dressed and out the door. I make sure I have all my gym things ( heart rate monitor, towel, drink bottle) all ready to go by the front door, so I literally grab my keys and out I go before I even have time to think “oh crap do I really wanna work out today?”.
    I have no patience either, weight loss can be very frustrating when you know you are putting in the effort and no seeing the results on the scale. Another good way is to measure yourself. Losing cm or inches is sometimes so much more rewarding knowing that you have actually shrunk!!
    All the best xx

    • Thanks Mel! These are good suggestions. Maybe if I set my alarm really early I can hit the snooze couple times. And, I definitely need to have everything ready to go! šŸ™‚ Thanks for responding.

  2. Get up, slap some icy cold water on your face and read an affirmation that you have written for yourself…such as…”Today you are taking the first step to treating yourself better.” You know you can do this…now get out there and do it! : )

    ~Cheers!
    Beth

  3. Not to create a cheap plug to my blog, i recently wrote a pliece around ‘Finding Your Why’ which you will find useful.

    In 2008 i found myself in a similar position. I wanted to lose weight, i was paying for my gym membership but as soon as i finished work i was looking for any excuse in the book. Too tired, can’t be bothered, i have stuff to do… as you would expect i didn’t get far in my goal. Fadt forward a few years and i’m working out 4-5 times a week and eating better then i ever did.

    The difference was not focusing on what to do but why i was doing it. Understanding why ensured i continue to make the right decisions.

  4. Be careful what you wish for

Leave a Reply

