Hallelujah!


So, this morning I stepped on the scale and like rays of sunshine  coming down in the bathroom, the scale finally went down a pound! Yes, I’m not crazy! I can actually lose weight! I didn’t think I’d ever be so excited about one pound but I am! This week it felt like no matter what I did I still felt bloated and fat. But, finally the scale is moving down! Can I get a “Hallelujah”?!

Once again, I’m saying no to temptations and it it’s starting to actaully feel good and keep me focused. Why, when people in your office are competing in a biggest loser challenge would you bring things such as cinnamon swirl cake and doughnuts?! I guess unless they are trying to tempt people so they can win? But, that would take a lot of will power to compete in a weight loss challenge and travel with doughnuts in your car..just saying.

I might not have a handle on the exercise yet, but I’m at least improving what I put in my body drastically. I’m so happy to say that so far Mon-Fri, every day I have had at least 2 servings of fruits and 5 servings of veggies! (And no, none of those servings of veggies were french fries) 🙂 In fact, I’m thinking back and making sure, but I haven’t had anything fried since last week. I’m sure my arteries are doing the happy dance and feeling some relief.

Unfortunately I’m really trying to not self-sabatoge but what do I do when friends and family want to go out to eat? Do I get what I normally like and just eat smaller portions? I don’t really want to order something I know I’m not going to like. I love Mexican food. It’s true and On The Border is my favorite place to go. But, you know if I add up the chips, salsa, guacamole, fajitas, and dare I say a margarita, that’s my whole day’s worth of calories almost in one meal!!! What’s a girl to do? Actually, I might just skip On the Border all together tonight and just go to the movie…popcorn is way better than that meal and much cheaper.

But, does anyone else have tips for eating out with friends? Any suggestions? I really want to stay on the right track. Any of you who have lost weight..what do you do in social situations like this, parties and eating out? Any help is greatly appreciated. ~Cahrity 🙂

7 responses to “Hallelujah!

  1. Charity,
    My life does not include a ton of social events; however, I have gone out to eat several times (probably a dozen or more) since last July. If I have any say in where we are going, I often choose somewhere I know has good salads. Not just lettuce and tomato-type salads either. I’m talking artisan salads with arugula and pecans…maybe some grilled chicken and avocado. Something “fancier” than a normal salad. The salads that are considered entrees in most restaurants are huge (at least twice the size that should be necessary), so I usually ask the server up front to put half in a to-go box and only bring half of it to the table with everyone else’s food. That prevents me from getting distracted while talking and eating the whole dang thing anyway. 🙂

    If I do not have a say in where we are going to eat, I usually try to get the healthiest thing on the menu. I always ask the server if they offer whole wheat/grain bread and/or pasta…that stuff is not always listed on the menu. Switching out regular white bread/pasta for 100% whole wheat/grain saves you calories and a sugar spike that will cause you to crave dessert later. That’s been my experience anyway.

    I always skip dessert…unless the restaurant offers some sort of fresh fruit variety. I only order the fruit if *everyone else* is ordering dessert. I find it distracts me from staring at their hot fudge sundaes or cheesecakes if I am busy with fruit.

    As cruel as this might sound, I also try to “pep talk” myself while out with others. Most of the people I eat out with are not on a healthy path, so they order the double-deep-fried-beer-battered-heart-attack-type of foods. I often (and only silently) tell myself that I’m going to feel so much better than they are once I am finished eating. I also tell myself that they are *gaining* weight just sitting in the booth while I am simply *nourishing* my body and giving it what it needs (only *needs* – not what my mind *wants*). That seems to help some. Again, I do realize that probably is not the nicest thought to have about my friends/family, though. LOL

    Hope any of this helps you…even just a little. You can do it, Love. It is hard work, but it can be done…and you’ll love yourself later for all those tough choices. 🙂

    -Erica

  2. Great job!

  3. Thanks Erica and Kristy! Erica, I actually just talked to my mom and we’re going to meet at a pizza place that offers a great salad with light house dressing..no bacon on my salad though 🙂 I guess I’m just going to have to stay away from On the Border. If I go there..I don’t think I have the will power to say no to a margarita and chips. Lunch was good though..had cut up bell pepper, couple slices of turkey and honey ham deli meat and 2 slices of swiss cheese..yum! I had carrots, but was not in a carrot mood. It’s so nice to have others who are losing/have lost the weight who have such great suggestions! Thanks again Erica! 🙂

  4. I look up the calorie info on the restaurant before i go and decide what I am going to get, I try to get something I will like but is low in calories. Then when I get to there I dont look at the menu because I have already decided what I want when i was at home before i was starving. i hope this helps. If the place doesnt have any good choices I go some place else that I know I can get something I like without using up all my cals for the day

  5. Sheri and Erica are right! I normally look up the menu online before going out and make my mind up before I go. If I am having a salad I ask the server to serve my dressing on the side so I can put as much as I want on. Another tip if you are having a steak instead of having chips you can ask for steamed vegetables or salad and if the steak is bigger than the palm of your hand then only east that amount

    • Also learn to say no to sauces and don’t forget your waiter is there to serve you it is not too much trouble to ask for particular items to be left off, remember you are the customer and the customer is always right! If they have a problem tell them to stock and eat some where else!

Leave a Reply

