Baby Steps vs Giant Leaps


When it comes to weight loss, I’m sure I’m not the only one who has ever been a “yo-yo dieter”. The person who decides to lose weight, overhaul their diet completely; lose the weight, then go right back to eating unhealthy like before and gain all the weight right back. Well, this viscous cycle has to end!

I’ve been researching small things I can change in my diet and exercise routine to make this weight loss a permanent change. This is a life long journey. I found a poster that says it perfectly:

 This is a lifetime revolution, a permanent change.

On the other end of the spectrum, my husband has decided he wants to give up meat and eat a mostly vegetarian diet. That’s a huge leap! This should have thrilled me since I am trying to lose weight and I want to eat healthier. After all, one of my daily goals is to get in at least 3 servings of fruit and 5 servings of vegetables. So, why did I freak out?!

I suddenly thought about all the things I loved that had meat that I would never eat again and I panicked almost. Over food! That’s insane! But, I did. This week my husband is now giving up beef. First thought in my mind, was no more steak or never putting hamburger in the spaghetti again. Really?! Should this be a terrible thing? No! Of course not! Thankfully, I’ve had my “aha” moment today and have come to terms that yes, I to need to eat less meat.

My husband is one who can give something up “cold turkey” as people would say. He can just decide to quit something and that’s it, no turning back.

I don’t work quite like that. I don’t know if I can say I will never eat beef again. But, I am going to try to cut out meat mostly from my diet. If I do this, I’m guaranteed to get in my daily servings of vegetables and fruits. Ideally, I’d like to reduce my meat intake to just 2-3 days a week. But, I digress.

My point is, he may be able to just stop eating or doing something, but I am not that strong willed. And, I want this to be a permanent weight loss. Therefore, I have been reading articles and research on small changes that can add up to weight loss.

Thankfully, I have already made some of these changes. I hope these ideas will inspire you to also make small changes that will lead to a permanent weight loss and a healthier lifestyle. It’s all about the baby steps.

So, here are some links to articles and a video on some small changes that add up big when it comes to weight loss.

http://soc.li/gQgUdiK

http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/small-diet-changes-big-rewards

http://th3skinny.tumblr.com/post/4726223667/small-changes-make-weight-loss-easy

http://www.webmd.com/diet/features/small-changes-get-healthier

Here’s to a healthier week this week! ~Charity

9 responses to “Baby Steps vs Giant Leaps

  1. Lots of great info thank you. I am just re-starting my journey I’ll be checking back to see what else you post 🙂

  2. You are doing great Charity! : )

  3. You are doing great! You don’t have to give up meat all together, just choose leaner cuts! don’t forget lean red meat, chicken and fish are excellent source s of protein and you need protein to build muscle, so if you are not eating meat you need to replace that with other forms of protein such as tofu, eggs and some legumes, like kidney beans. Hope this helps!

    • Thanks Mel. I told my husband that I will probably still eat some meats and he said last night that he will mostl likely still eat fish, and he’ll still have dairy and eggs. We’ve also bought some greek yogurt that has quite a bit of protein in it. And, I’ve been doing research on veggies that also carry protein in them. I didn’t realize broccoli has 6g of protein for 2 cups. But, I love chicken, turkey, seafood…I don’t know if I can give meat up completely, but I’m going to try to limit it. 🙂

  4. hornofoverflowing

    Great post – thanks so much! I am always amazed by people like your husband who can stop things cold turkey – that’s incredible!

  5. I know right?! He has amazing will power. I on the other hand just think about all the stuff I would be giving up. But, I have been doing better…making sure I get in all my veggies and fruit. I’ve cut it down to one serving of meat a day so far. And last night for dinner we just had veggies. I sauteed some cabbage and oh my goodness it was sooooo good. I think I ate like half a head of sauteed cabbage..lol. I’ve been eating so much crap for so long that I had forgotten how good fresh vegetables and fruit really are! Thank you for the comment! And for following! 🙂

  6. I like meat too much to give it up plus I keep my protein intake high because of the heavy strength training I do, but there are a lot of health benefits in a plant-based diet, so kudos to your hubby for giving it a go. However you decide to adjust your own diet, know that it’s ok to do something different from what he’s doing if giving up meat becomes an issue for you.

  7. Oh, yes, I already told my husband, I like meat too much. So I know I can’t say I’ll never eat meat again. However, I’m trying to be the supportive wife and learn more vegetarian recipes, alternate protein sources, etc. But we had this talk because I’m from the south…every once in a while I get a hankerin for a good steak and potato. I know I now have the self control to cut my steak in half and only have 5 oz at most, but I do like steak! And seafood! So, he said he wouldn’t care. He’s not becoming vegetarian for animal rights or anything like that. He just learned about his risk for heart disease recently so he wants to cut down on his meat intake. 🙂

Leave a Reply

