Yes…It’s Cabbage Again


I’m sure this is what I will be saying when the hubby sees me cooking cabbage again tonight. This will be the third time this week. Umm…well.. I don’t know why, but I’m a little in love with my “fried” (sautéed) cabbage. Yes it’s totally cliché that a person from the south would fry cabbage…but this is actually healthy and not deep-fried, just sautéed in a little butter…don’t worry. 🙂 And, yes I know it’s totally weird…

Well, let me explain. You know how sometimes when you smell something it reminds you of a memory or a happy place? I had forgotten about how my great-grandmother loved to make “fried” cabbage almost every Sunday after church.

I cooked some sautéed cabbage Monday night and immediately thought of those great memories. And, when I tasted that wonderful taste when it was nice and cooked down soft and browned…well it took me to a happy place.

 Cabbage on the right cooking it down…yum..with some carrots and asparagus! That’s how we do it here in the south!

I know I sound crazy, and that’s ok. I’m just happy to have an obsession with a healthy food. If I’m not going to eat very much meat any more, this is one veggie dish I think I could eat every night. No, thankfully for my husband I won’t cook it every night…but the cabbage was on sale at our local grocery store for .38 cents! So, it might be every other night until next month…hehehe. 🙂

And it must be doing something good for me because when I weighed this morning I was down another pound. Bam! Heck Yes! Is there something in cabbage that promotes weight loss? I know I’ve heard of a cabbage soup diet for weight loss. I might have to make up a “fried” cabbage diet…uh no…don’t worry folks I won’t do that. But, seriously, it’s amazing, cheap, easy to fix, and tastes so good! I would take my “fried” cabbage over any french fry! (And I used to have a super obsession with french fries!!!) Yet again, so glad this obsession is with something that’s actually good for me.

Are there any foods that y’all have become obsessed with since you started eating healthier? Or am I just crazy…? -a definite possibility… Better question is does anyone else have foods that takes them back to a happy memory or place?

~Charity 🙂

5 responses to “Yes…It’s Cabbage Again

  1. Pingback: Healthy Cabbage, Weight Loss | Mr.FuzzyBear

  2. I love cabbage! But I love Brussels sprouts more…you’d probably like this recipe: http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=10150111048882046 I don’t know that I’m obssessed with any particular foods, but I do love my fish. I eat either tilapia or salmon at least 3-4 times a week. Loaded with protein & super tasty.

  3. I love fried cabbage and have it quite a lot but now I use low cal spray (not quite the same but okay).

  4. Sweet!!! Thanks for the recipe stubbysticks! My hubby loves brussel sprouts. Ele-in-Flight, I probably should use a low cal spray, but I figure if that’s the extent of my fats is 2 tbsp of butter for the whole head of cabbage, I should be ok. I may later try it with low cal spray though. Glad I’m not the only cabbage lover! 🙂

  5. This looks yummy, and I have a bag of shredded cabbage in the fridge just waiting for me to do something with it. Guess I know what’s for dinner 🙂 Thanks for the idea

Leave a Reply

