No Self-Sabotaging Allowed!


Ok, let me just say that today I have been in a horribly foul mood and just plain mad at the world right now. I’m tired of feeling like I’m always on the crap end of the stick! And let me just whine and say, “IT’S NOT FAIR!!!” Now that I have gotten my whining out of my system I shall move on.

It seems like every Friday I cave into my old fatty cravings for the weekend and any weight I had lost through the week I seem to gain back over the weekend! I’m tired of self-sabotaging the weekends away!

I love spending time with my mom whose one of my best friends. We usually have some kind of errands to run or a project going on and we usually eat out once or twice throughout the weekend. My usual favorites were Mexican where I would have chips, salsa, cheese dip or guacamole or both, enchiladas or quesadillas, and a margarita (ok, I’ll be honest more like 2-3 margaritas)..do you know that came up to over 1300 calories?!!! That’s crazy!

My problem is my mom is not a fan of trying new things. But, tonight I have decided she’s coming with me to Ghengis Grill which is a “build your own bowl” type of place. I’ve already gone on My Fitness Pal and added up the ingredients and it will be about 600-700 calories for a bowl with shrimp, scallops, mushrooms, squash, onion, sweet n sour sauce, on udon noodles. Oh yes, be jealous! You know that sounds amazing right now!!!Hopefully my mom will be open to this place and enjoy it..we shall see. I will probably take some pictures and post them later.

Let me be honest with myself when I get into a bad mood or when Friday rolls around, I use any excuse in the typical fat person’s book as to why I can “cheat” and have foods I know are over my calorie limit and not healthy at all. And, if I had a dime for every excuse I’m making for not exercising I would be a millionaire!

I’m not letting myself do this to me anymore! I can’t! If I want to see progress at all, I have to stop making excuses. Afterall, this isn’t a diet; this is my lifestyle now. I have to learn to always make healthier choices than the old habit me. Because, even though I’m not in the greatest mood today…the old way of eating me was seriously unhappy all the time. The old way of eating me was bordering on depressed. I don’t want to go back there. I feel so much better when I eat “clean”-no fried or processed foods. And, I don’t want to go back to that crappy feeling and have to start all over Monday morning.

There will be no regrets this next Monday morning! I am determined to  eat healthy! As the hubby says, “I have my resolved face on-this is the resolved face”. 🙂 Prepare and plan ahead is what I shall be doing from now on. I still want to enjoy my mom and me time, but it will be eating healthier foods.

Wish me luck on trying to convince my mom to eat healthier with me and try new places… 🙂

Wishing everyone else a fabulous weekend!!! Make healthy choices! ~Charity

12 responses to “No Self-Sabotaging Allowed!

  1. I came by from Erica’s blog:) My son loves one of those places near us and when he is home from college always wants to go. Hope you have a great weekend.

  2. Thanks Karen. My husband like Ghengis Grill, but we’ll see if my mom will like it. Lol. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. hornofoverflowing

    Good luck this evening, Charity! Fridays and weekends are my struggling days too. I’m just blogging about it now, in fact.

  4. Yep! I know this feeling very well. I think at the weekend we try to relax, and our healthy eating habits relax too…
    Hope you enjoyed your meal, sounds delicious! I am pretty pleased I found a tasty looking veg pizza for under 500 cals at the supermarket, so will have that as my Saturday night treat. Have a good weekend. Betty xxx

    • You’ll have to let me know how your veggie pizza was. I’m happy to say that my mom did like Genghis Grill. We had it for dinner Friday night and then for lunch on Sat! She loved it! She said she wanted to go back on Saturday so she could try different veggies and sauces. Lol.

  5. I know exactly what you mean! ‘The Girl’ has volleyball games on Fridays so #1 we aren’t home to fix healthy meals and #2 we often stop for fast food with the team as we all ride the bus (she plays for our church’s school team when her school’s season is over). So, i pretty much use this as an excuse to pig out and eat whatever I want on that day and then because I did that i ‘should be able to eat whatever I want all weekend because I already messed up Friday so the weekend shouldn’t matter’…. UGH!! MUST.STOP.THE.MADNESS. It stops today!! If we stop at fast food next Friday, I’m getting a salad, you have my word!!! As me about it week after next, okay?!?!?! Please, Thanks! =)

    • I so remember those days! I played volleyball and softball! Loved volleyball the best though! I will definitely keep checking in with you. I did pretty good this weekend but I still “cheated” yesterday. I held out as long as I could. But, my mom made German choc caked which is like my favorite…so I had a small piece. I was proud though that the piece I did have was about half the size I would have gotten in the past. And yes, it was soooo good! My exercise this Sat was taking my cousins, aunt, and my mom bowling. It was so much fun, but I guess I used muscles I don’t normally use because I was kinda sore yesterday! But, so much fun! 🙂

  6. It is so easy to make excuses…I am there with you!!!! You can do it! I’ve had a real craptastic week too…just one thing after the other and it’s only my first week into the journey of health…but this lady isn’t giving up…so we can hold on together. Hang in there you can do it!

    • That’s exactly right!!! We can’t give up. I didn’t do as good as I wanted this weekend but this is a life long journey and I don’t want to deprive myself of something. I did enjoy a small piece of cake this weekend. But, I did eat way healthier than I normally do on the weekends. And, I did get all my veggies for this week. They’re all cut up for lunches. Found some yummy pumpkin spiced almonds to snack on..so I’m prepared for this week! 🙂

  7. You have such a great attitude, Charity. I love that! Very nice blog. I saved it to my favourites. I’ll be visiting to check on your progress, lady. 😉

    FYI – I’m UrbanMasala from MFP. Found your blog on the message board you created.

  8. Aww. Thanks for stopping by! I just saved your blogs to my blogroll. They look really interesting! And, I love getting new recipes. I’m probably going to send you a message on MFP to add as a friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

