Turkey Trickery


So, I’m back again! I know my posts have been very sporadic. But, I just had to post how I thought I was doing so well! I had lost 5lbs!

I thought that I had overcome the horrible temptations of the Thanksgiving holiday! I thought I did well at only having a small portion of the foods I love most. So, I had every bit of confidence when I got on the scale this morning…

Um..FAIL! Every pound I had lost; all of that hard work..was back on the scale this morning!!! So, here I am again..starting all over again! My first thought was “Screw this..I’m getting a frappacino this morning!” But, then I knew that mindset would not help at all! If I’m ever going to succeed and actually lose the weight, I’m going to have to take it one day at a time. I’m going to have to persevere and continue to make healthier choices.

Therefore, I will be on here more. Sharing the good, the bad, and the ugly! I’m hoping this outlet will help me observe my behaviors more and help me overcome my food addiction.

So, here goes my first confession: I think I’m a self –sabotager! I do so good during the day. Then in the evenings, the cravings get to me! I know my husband thought I was a crazy person last night! I wanted cookies so bad; maybe not even cookies so much as I wanted some sweet cookie dough! Well, we didn’t have any baking soda, so I searched online until I found a cookie recipe that didn’t require baking soda and just used baking powder. When I say I searched, I mean I had to have been looking for at least 45 minutes before I found one. And then, I went in the kitchen and whipped up the dough. I think I took my teaspoon and got three different bites before I even made any cookies. Then, they didn’t really turn out to be “cookies” more than a sweet biscuit thing. I then proceeded to eat 4 of those with a glass of milk. All I did was go over my calories and waste a lot of flour, sugar, and butter!  

I am admitting as I think back on my crazy person actions last night…I obviously have a problem, right?! Ugh… But, I don’t want to give up. I’m still trying. I still got up this morning and made my breakfast and I’m still going to have my salad for lunch. I just have to get it under control in the evenings.

To my husband, if you read this…please talk me out of crazyness like that last night!

Ok, carrying on now.

Side note: I do not like being put in uncomfortable situations and I dislike being judged and receiving snide comments because I don’t want to participate in an uncomfortable situation. A co-worker’s mother passed away, and the office was passing around a card for her. That’s sweet and all but the co-worker’s mother passed away-A MONTH AGO! Really?! I stated I didn’t want to sign the card because I thought that would be awkward and didn’t want to bring it up again. And, I go snapped at by my co-workers because I didn’t sign the dang card?! “I’m sure she thinks about her mom dying every single day”-says one coworker. Yes, so let’s just rub it in her face again…no thank you. Sigh..ok that kinda makes me feel better. Rant over for that.

I hope everyone has a wonderful day and stays on track; make healthy choices! 🙂

One response to “Turkey Trickery

  1. Happy to see you back at it 🙂

Leave a Reply

